Research highlights from Fraunhofer IKTS

© Fraunhofer IKTS

cerenergy® – Assembling of a ceramic high-temperature battery cell for stationary energy storage.

Electricity from ceramics – environmentally friendly and cost-effective stationary energy storage systems

Stationary energy storage systems are key element of a modern and sustainable energy supply. Globally growing energy supply and the steady increase of peak loads call for reliable solutions. Conventional and renewable power generation will grow together through low-cost energy storage and will provide affordable energy supply in the long-term. Due to latest ceramic processes the high-temperature battery cerenergy® developed at Fraunhofer IKTS has been optimized regarding low costs and good series production.

Batteries based on sodium-nickel-chloride already appeared in the 80s for applications in electric vehicles. Fraunhofer IKTS researchers took up this technology and re-evaluated it in the context of a stationary energy supply that is looking for cost-effective, long-lasting and reliable solutions. Characteristic for batteries of this type is the exclusive use of indigenous raw materials and metals such as nickel, alumina or cooking salt. This makes these batteries ecologically sustainable. Researchers also succeeded in significantly reducing costs. The key to this remarkable development lies in the core of the high-temperature batteries, the ceramic beta-aluminate electrolytes. Their design decisively determines cost and function of the technology. By means of the ceramic manufacturing and synthesizing route available at Fraunhofer IKTS, the processing of both the ceramic powder up to the beta-aluminate is realized. Thus, an all-ceramic large-scale production technology is offered for a contemporary energy storage.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

Photocatalysis module.

© Fraunhofer IVI

autartec® "FreiLichtHaus".

Living on water– self-sufficient waste water treatment by ceramics

A life away from car noise and exhaust fumes – more and more people are attracted to the water. Energy-efficient swimming houses not only fulfill this vitality, but also stimulate the economy of structurally weak regions. In the autartec© project, Fraunhofer IKTS works together with partners from industry and research on a houseboat that supplies itself with water, electricity and heat.

For the water supply in the houseboat, the IKTS researchers develop a closed-loop system for drinking and industrial water. They rely on a combination of ceramic membranes and various electrochemical and photocatalytic processes. While the sewage is always biologically treated onshore, this process is not possible on a floating house. Physical and chemical methods help to solve this problem: ceramics offers very efficient possibilities to bring processes such as photocatalysis, electrochemistry and filtration together in a confined space. Other materials such as steel and plastic would fail in such aggressive operations. The technology for the circulatory system is to be housed in the pontoon that bundles everything under one roof.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

Wire die with integrated cooling channel in the raw state after sintering: at Fraunhofer IKTS in Dresden hardmetal components are developed according to customer requirements via 3D binder jetting.

Design freedom by additive manufacturing – complex hardmetal tools out of the 3D printer

High mechanical and chemical as well as a high temperature resistance and extreme hardness are required for tools that are used in mechanical and automotive engineering or in the construction and forming industry. To date, reliable cutting, drilling, pressing and stamping tools made of hardmetals are manufactured by uniaxial or cold isostatic dry pressing, extrusion and injection molding as well as by green shaping at Fraunhofer IKTS. In traditional tool manufacturing, complex geometries, such as helical or meandering cooling channels inside the component, are still implemented at high cost or not possible at all.

Researchers at Fraunhofer IKTS managed the development of complex hardmetal tools via 3D printing in a quality that is in no way inferior to conventionally produced high-performance tools. The binder jetting method is used in this case. The starting powders or granules are locally wetted with an organic binder by a print head and bound. The challenge was to get one hundred percent dense components, which have a perfect microstructure and thus good mechanical properties. By varying the metallic binder, bending strength, fracture toughness and hardness can be adjusted individually – the lower the amount of binder in the hardmetals, the harder the tool material. The prototypes manufactured at Fraunhofer IKTS have a binder content of twelve and seventeen percent by weight and show a structure comparable to conventional routes.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

3.5-m2 module for field tests with 19-channel NF membranes.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

163-channel NF membranes with membrane surface area/element of 1.3 m2.

Clean recycling water – ceramic nanofiltration membranes for the processing of oil sands

Oil extraction from oil sands requires a large amount of water for different processes. Hot water used to reduce the viscosity of the oil makes up the largest share. After oil/water separation, the water is sent to the tailings ponds and can be reused as “recycle water“ without any further treatment. One approach to increase profitability and sustainability is to make these enormous amounts of water usable for further production processes. Ceramic nanofiltration (NF) membranes can provide a contribution to an economical and environmentally friendly solution.

Due to their resistance to organic matter and oil residues, desalination behavior, and thermal stability, ceramic nanofiltration membranes can contribute to the development of new and more efficient recycling processes, including partial heat recovery. In a current project started in 2013 together with partners Shell Global Solutions International B.V., Shell Canada Ltd., and Andreas Junghans - Anlagenbau und Edelstahlbearbeitung GmbH & Co. KG, 19-channel elements with ceramic NF membranes are being tested in an oil field in Canada. The 19-channel NF membranes showed rejection of alkaline earth metals (Ca and Mg) of up to 80 % and of alkali metals (Na and K) of up to 55 %. The permeate was free of organic matter. Long-term tests performed over several months confirmed the stability of the membranes.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

Manufacturing of Li-ion battery electrodes in the pilot-plant scale – electrode coils.

Electricity from ceramics II – New battery concepts for electric vehicles

Driving enjoyment and electric drive – two terms that are no longer contradictory. Today, hardly any automobile manufacturer goes without an “e-car“ in its range of models. However, further full-scale research in the advancement of energy storage materials and concepts as well as the constant improvement of corresponding production technologies has to be conducted until electric vehicles become established in everyday life. Furthermore, optimal cost, performance and lifespan shall be achieved by means of intelligent system architectures and future-oriented lightweight housings. 

The three project partners thyssenkrupp System Engineering GmbH, IAV GmbH and Fraunhofer IKTS take this a vital step further. With EMBATT, they develop the concept and specially tailored production technologies for lithium-based high-performance batteries set-up in a planar manner, which are directly integrated into the chassis of the vehicle. Thereby, significantly more compact energy storage solutions with energy densities of 450 Wh/l and therefore ranges of up to 1000 km are realizable. This becomes possible by pooling the specific experiences and competencies of the three partners in a joint project. Fraunhofer IKTS conducts research on the development of customized materials and specific methods for electrode manufacturing.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

CeraCode® labeling for metal processing at high temperatures.

Components marking for extreme conditions -– ceramic phosphors in metal processing

For a reliable, clear and tamper-proof marking of semi-finished and end products there are a variety of labeling solutions on the market. These range from a simple serial number to integrated RFID chips (Radio Frequency IDentification). However, these solutions do not meet the specific requirements of metal processing. However, these solutions do not meet the special requirements of metal processing such as high temperatures. Under the name CeraCode® researchers at Fraunhofer IKTS developed a marking for metal components, which defies even high temperatures without affecting the properties of the component.

Core element of the process are ceramic phosphors that respond to optical excitation with a pronounced luminescence. These phosphors are very robust: they withstand high temperatures, are resistant to harsh chemical environment, and can be added to a variety of materials. Thus, it is possible to incorporate the phosphors directly into inks or pastes, and to print on the metal surface. Depending on whether static or dynamic information is required, screen or inkjet printing is used. Both processes can be integrated into production lines. As only a minimal amount of material is printed, an influence on the workpiece characteristics or the adhesion of coatings is excluded. Inks and pastes dosed with phosphors are safe and environmentally friendly, which means no additional health and safety measures are necessary. Due to the high contrast between marking and substrate, automated readout is possible in all lighting situations.

Forschungshighlights des Fraunhofer IKTS

© Fraunhofer IKTS

cerenergy® – Assemblierung einer keramischen Hochtemperatur-Batteriezelle für die stationäre Energiespeicherung.

Strom aus Keramik – Umweltfreundliche und kostengünstige stationäre Energiespeicher

Stationäre Energiespeicher gelten als Schlüsselelement einer modernen und nachhaltigen Energieversorgung. Weltweit wachsender Energiebedarf und die stetige Zunahme von Spitzenlasten erfordern zuverlässige Lösungen. Klassische und erneuerbare Stromerzeugung werden durch kostengünstige Energiespeicher zusammenwachsen und langfristig bezahlbare Versorgungssicherheit bieten. Die am Fraunhofer IKTS entwickelte Hochtemperaturbatterie cerenergy® wurde durch modernste keramische Verfahren auf niedrige Kosten und gute Herstellbarkeit in Serie optimiert.

Batterien auf Basis von Natrium-Nickelchlorid tauchten bereits in den 80er Jahren für Anwendungen in Elektrofahrzeugen auf. Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer IKTS haben diese Technologie nun wieder aufgegriffen und im Kontext einer stationären Energieversorgung, die nach kostengünstigen, langlebigen und zuverlässigen Lösungen sucht, neu bewertet. Auszeichnend für Batterien dieser Art ist der ausschließliche Einsatz einheimischer Rohstoffe und Metalle wie Nickel, Aluminiumoxid oder Kochsalz. Damit sind diese Batterien ökologisch nachhaltig. Den Forschern ist es zudem gelungen, die Kosten erheblich zu senken. Der Schlüssel für diese bemerkenswerte Entwicklung liegt im Kern der Hochtemperatur-Batterien, den keramischen Elektrolyten aus Beta-Aluminat, deren Design und Herstellung maßgeblich Kosten und Funktion der Technologie bestimmen. Mit der am Fraunhofer IKTS verfügbaren keramischen Fertigungs- und Syntheseroute wird die Aufbereitung des keramischen Pulvers bis hin zur Prozessierung des Beta-Aluminats realisiert und eine vollkeramische Großserientechnologie für die zeitgemäße Energiespeicherung geboten.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

Photokatalysemodul.

© Fraunhofer IVI

autartec® »FreiLichtHaus«.

Wohnen auf dem Wasser – Autarke Abwasserreinigung mit Keramik

Ein Leben abseits von Autolärm und Abgasen – immer mehr Menschen zieht es ans Wasser. Energieautarke schwimmende Häuser erfüllen nicht nur dieses Lebensgefühl, sondern kurbeln auch die Wirtschaft strukturschwacher Regionen an. Im Projekt »autartec©« arbeitet das Fraunhofer IKTS gemeinsam mit Partnern aus Industrie und Forschung an einem Hausboot, das sich selbst mit Wasser, Strom und Wärme versorgt.

Zur Wasserversorgung im Hausboot entwickeln die Forscher des Fraunhofer IKTS ein geschlossenes Kreislaufsystem für Trink- und Brauchwasser. Dafür setzen sie auf eine Kombination aus keramischen Membranen und verschiedenen elektrochemischen und photokatalytischen Prozessen. Während an Land das Abwasser immer auch biologisch behandelt wird, ist dieser Prozess auf einem schwimmenden Haus nicht möglich. Physikalische und chemische Methoden schaffen dabei Abhilfe: Die Keramik bietet sehr effiziente Möglichkeiten, um Prozesse wie Photokatalyse, Elektrochemie und Filtration auf engstem Raum zusammenzubringen. Andere Materialien wie Stahl und Kunststoff würden bei derart aggressiven Vorgängen versagen. Die Technik für das Kreislaufsystem soll im Ponton untergebracht werden, so ist alles unter einem Dach gebündelt.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

Drahtziehdüse mit integriertem Kühlkanal im Rohzustand nach dem Sintern: Am Fraunhofer IKTS in Dresden werden nach Kundenanforderung über das 3D-Binder-Jetting Hartmetallbauteile entwickelt.

Gestaltungsfreiheit durch additive Fertigung – Komplexe Hartmetallwerkzeuge aus dem 3D-Drucker

Mechanische und chemische Beständigkeit, eine hohe Warmfestigkeit und extreme Härte werden von Werkzeugen gefordert, die im Maschinen- oder Fahrzeugbau sowie in der Kunst- oder der Baustoffindustrie zum Einsatz kommen. Bislang wurden am Fraunhofer IKTS zuverlässige Schneid-, Bohr-, Press- und Stanzwerkzeuge aus Hartmetall mit dem uniaxialen oder kaltisostatischen Trockenpressen, der Extrusion und dem Spritzgießen sowie der spanenden Formgebung gefertigt. Komplexe Geometrien, wie helixförmige oder mäandrierende Kühlkanäle im Inneren des Bauteils, sind im traditionellen Werkzeugbau jedoch oft nur mit hohem Kosteneinsatz oder gar nicht realisierbar.

Daher entwickeln die Forscher am Fraunhofer IKTS komplexe Hartmetallwerkzeuge mittels 3D-Druck-Verfahren, deren Qualität konventionell hergestellten Hochleistungswerkzeugen in nichts nachsteht. Bei dem dabei verwendeten Binder-Jetting-Verfahren werden die Ausgangspulver bzw. -granulate über einen Druckkopf mit einem organischen Binder lokal benetzt und gebunden. Dabei ist es die Herausforderung, hundertprozentig dichte Bauteile zu erhalten, die ein perfektes Hartmetallgefüge und gute mechanische Eigenschaften aufweisen. Durch die gezielte Variation der Bindermatrix werden Biegebruchfestigkeit, Zähigkeit und Härte individuell eingestellt – je geringer der Binderanteil im Hartmetall, desto härter das Bauteil. Die am Fraunhofer IKTS gefertigten Prototypen haben einen Bindergehalt von zwölf bzw. siebzehn Masseprozent und zeigen ein der konventionellen Herstellungsroute vergleichbares Gefüge.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

3,5 m2-Modul für Feldversuche mit 19-Kanal-NF-Membranen.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

163-Kanal-NF-Membranen mit 1,3 m2 Membranfläche pro Element.

Sauberes Recyclingwasser – Keramische Nanofiltrationsmembranen in der Ölsandaufbereitung

Bei der Ölgewinnung aus Ölsand werden große Wassermengen eingesetzt. Dabei ist der größte Anteil heißes Wasser, das benötigt wird, um die Viskosität des Öls zu verringern. Nach der Öl-Wasser-Trennung wird dieses Wasser in Absetzbecken als sogenanntes Recyclingwasser zwischengespeichert. Ein Ansatz zur Steigerung der Wirtschaftlichkeit und Nachhaltigkeit besteht darin, diese enormen Wassermengen für weitere Produktionsprozesse nutzbar zu machen. Keramische Nanofiltrationsmembranen können hier einen Beitrag zu einer wirtschaftlichen und umweltgerechten Lösung bieten.

Aufgrund ihrer Resistenz gegenüber organischen Bestandteilen und Ölen, ihren Entsalzungseigenschaften und ihrer Temperaturstabilität sind sie bestens für neue effiziente Reinigungsverfahren geeignet, mit denen das Wasser und gegebenenfalls auch ein Teil der Wärme wieder verwendet werden können. In Zusammenarbeit mit Shell Global Solutions International B.V., der Shell Canada Ltd., Alberta Innovates – Energy and Environment Solutions und der Andreas Junghans Anlagenbau und Edelstahlbearbeitung GmbH & Co. KG werden seit 2013 keramische 19-Kanal-NF-Membranen auf einem Ölsandfeld in Canada getestet. Es konnte gezeigt werden, dass sich Erdalkaliionen (Calcium, Magnesium) zu 80 % und Alkaliionen (Natrium, Kalium) zu 55 % abtrennen lassen. Gleichzeitig werden organische Bestandteile vollständig zurückgehalten. Langzeitversuche über mehrere Monate zeigten ein stabiles Membranverhalten.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

Herstellung von Lithium-Batterie-Elektroden im Pilotmaßstab – Elektrodencoils.

Strom aus Keramik II – Neue Batteriekonzepte für Elektrofahrzeuge

Fahrspaß und Elektroantrieb – zwei Vokabeln, die sich längst nicht mehr widersprechen. Heute verzichtet kaum noch ein Automobilhersteller auf einen »Stromer« in seiner Modellpalette. Bis sich Elektrofahrzeuge endgültig im Alltag etablieren, ist jedoch noch intensive Forschungsarbeit in der Weiterentwicklung von Speichermaterialien und  -konzepten sowie der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung dazugehöriger Produktionstechniken zu leisten. Darüber hinaus soll mithilfe intelligenter Systemarchitekturen und zukunftsweisender Leichtbaugehäuse ein Optimum an Kosten, Performance und Lebensdauer erreicht werden.

Die drei Projektpartner Thyssenkrupp System Engineering GmbH, IAV GmbH und das Fraunhofer IKTS gehen noch einen entscheidenden Schritt weiter. Sie entwickeln mit EMBATT das Konzept und darauf abgestimmte Fertigungstechnologien für planar aufgebaute, Lithium-basierte Hochleistungsbatterien, die direkt im Chassis des Fahrzeugs integriert werden. Dadurch sind deutlich kompaktere Energiespeicherlösungen mit Energiedichten von 450 Wh/l und somit Reichweiten von bis zu 1000 km realisierbar. Vorab sind jedoch noch technische Herausforderungen zu meistern. Möglich wird dies, indem alle drei Partner ihre spezifischen Erfahrungen und Kompetenzen in einem gemeinsamen Projekt bündeln. Das Fraunhofer IKTS forscht hierbei an der Entwicklung maßgeschneiderter Materialien und spezieller Verfahren zur Elektrodenherstellung.

© Fraunhofer IKTS

CeraCode®-Kennzeichnung bei der Metallbearbeitung unter hohen Temperaturen.

Bauteilkennzeichnung für extreme Prozessbedingungen – Keramische Leuchtstoffe in der Metallverarbeitung

Um Halbzeuge und Produkte zuverlässig, eindeutig und fälschungssicher zu markieren, existieren verschiedenste Kennzeichnungslösungen am Markt. Diese reichen von einer simplen Seriennummer bis hin zu integrierten RFID-Chips. Den speziellen Anforderungen in der Metallverarbeitung – wie den hohen Temperaturen – werden diese Lösungen jedoch nicht gerecht. Unter dem Namen CeraCode® entwickelten Forscher am Fraunhofer eine Markierung für Metallbauteile, die selbst hohen Temperaturen trotzen, ohne die Eigenschaften des Bauteils zu beeinflussen.

Kernelement von CeraCode® sind keramische Leuchtstoffe, die auf optische Anregung durch Licht mit ausgeprägter Lumineszenz reagieren. Diese Materialien sind sehr robust: Sie halten hohen Temperaturen stand, sind unempfindlich gegenüber chemischen Einflüssen und lassen sich verschiedenen Materialien beimischen. Damit ist es möglich, die Leuchtstoffe direkt in Tinten oder Pasten einzubringen und auf die Bauteile zu drucken. Je nachdem ob statische oder dynamische Informationen aufgedruckt werden, kommen dafür Sieb- oder Tintenstrahldruck zum Einsatz. Beide Verfahren lassen sich einfach in die Fertigungsstraße integrieren. Da nur kleinste Materialmengen verdruckt werden, ist eine Beeinflussung der Werkstückeigenschaften oder der Haftung von Beschichtungen auszuschließen. Die mit Leuchtstoffen versetzten Tinten und Pasten sind sicher und umweltfreundlich, so dass keine weiteren Arbeitsschutzmaßnahmen notwendig sind. Durch den hohen Kontrast zwischen Markierung und Trägermaterial ist ein Auslesen in allen Beleuchtungssituationen möglich.